The Seven Sacred Teachings of the Anishinaabe *

  • LOVE: it is important to care for one another

  • HONESTY: better to fail with honesty than succeed by fraud

  • RESPECT: give it, earn it, receive it

  • TRUTH: it is always easiest to speak the truth

  • HUMILITY: to be humble about your accomplishments is to be strong

  • COURAGE: let nothing stand in the way of doing the right thing

  • WISDOM: with hard work and dedication will come knowledge
talking stck
talking stick
  1. With the help of a talking stick, each person in the circle group will be listened to in turn, treated with respect and valued for their insights. In Zoom Circles, we create a virtual circle with the same purpose of ensuring that everyone will be listened to.
  2. We propose meeting times of 90 minutes maximum, with each group meeting for ten weeks, thus requiring a serious commitment.
  3. We will always endeavour to provide support for any participants experiencing trauma.
  4. Because both personal and cultural differences play a role in the willingness and comfort level of people speaking in a group, respect, patience and courtesy are to be the hallmarks of the groups.
  5. It is very important that we all recognize that the feelings of an individual are neither right nor wrong. They are real and need to be respected.
  6. In accordance with the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Report, the four guiding principles for the new relationship are “mutual recognition, mutual respect, sharing, and mutual responsibility.” (Interim Report, page 23)
  7. There is no cost to participants, only a common commitment to work toward achieving truth and reconciliation and equality of opportunity for Indigenous people of Canada.
*Circles for Reconciliation Inc. recognizes that all First Nations, Métis and Inuit people have their own cultural teachings that encompass the morals and values of conduct. On page 30 of “Honouring the Truth, Reconciling for the Future.”, it states that The Seven Sacred Teachings of the Anishinaabe—Respect, Courage, Love, Truth, Humility, Honesty, and Wisdom—served as the themes for the seven National Events, and ceremony and traditional observance played an important part in the National Events. It is recognized that there are many adaptions of the teachings. We encourage each circle to adapt the Seven Sacred Teachings of the Anishinaabe to the needs of their circle.