(L-R) Ingrid Dowan, CFR Co-Founder, Premier Wab Kinew and Grace Schedler, CFR Co-Founder (photo courtesy CFR)Circles for Reconciliation (CFR) went to the official Swearing-in-Ceremony at Winnipeg’s Assiniboine Park Leaf solarium, shortly after Wab Kinew and the New Democratic Party won the October 3, 2023 Provincial Election.

Premier Wab Kinew (MLA for Fort Rouge) made Canadian history by becoming the only First Nation to ascend to the office of Premiership of a Canadian Province, along with five other Indigenous people.

Premier Kinew is also Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, International Relations and Minister responsible for Indigenous Reconciliation.

In other firsts marking Canadian history was the appointment of three First Nations people to Cabinet postings. Nahanni Fontaine (MLA for St. Johns) has become Minister of Families, Minister responsible for Accessibility and Minister responsible for Gender Equity.

Bernadette Smith (MLA for Point Douglas) has become Minister of Housing, Addictions and Homelessness, and Minister responsible for Mental Health.

Ian Bushie (MLA for Keewatinook and former Chief of Hollow Water First Nation) was appointed Minister of Municipal and Northern Relations, and Minister of Indigenous Economic Development.

The other Indigenous people to win were Eric Redhead (Thompson) and Amanda Lathlin (The Pas-Kameesak).

Hope has arrived in the pursuit of reconciliation.